top of page

The Latest 

From doubts to diagnosis.


From Doubts to Diagnosis.


Some days I thought I was going crazy. Actually most days I was going crazy… but what I soon came to discover is that I was actually feeling empowered to find answers. I was subconsciously following my mother’s instincts to get him more help. I knew there was more, and I knew I couldn’t just ignore it, or just “let him outgrow it”. And deep down I knew he wasn’t just “being a boy”.


Here is a list of the signs of autism he was showing:

COMMUNICATION:

-Delayed Speech

-Speech Regression

-Does not answer to his name

-Does not greet us, his parents, when we come home

-Can not follow directions

-Cannot communicate his needs.




SOCIAL SKILLS:

-Ignores other children

-Likes to be alone

-Avoids eye contact

-Is in his own world

-Sometimes gets scared or bothered for no apparent reason and covers his eyes or ears.


UNUSUAL BEHAVIORS:

-Lines up his toys

-Can occupy himself for extended periods of time

-Focuses on details of his toys and misses their broader purpose (just spins the wheel on a car)

-Gets upset by minor changes

-Gets frustrated easily

-Has obsessive interests (balls, wheels, light switches)

-Play with toys the exact same way for long periods of time (ie: pouring water from one cup to another)

-Likes routines

-Gets “stuck” on things and can’t move to other activities.


MISCELLANEOUS:

-Hand flapping

-Covers his eyes/ears when bothered by something

-Sensitive to texture, didn’t like walking on the grass or sand

-Throws extreme temper tantrums

-Is very independent for his age.


For us, getting the official diagnosis was not like receiving any other diagnosis. It was almost a comfort in a way. Shifting my thoughts of “man, I am going insane”, to “I was right all along”.

And I’m glad that I followed my gut because now, thanks to the amazing group of people working together with us, he has progressed tremendously.

I am happy to share more with you all with the intention of educating on something that, unfortunately so many still have so much to learn about.

Thanks for reading,

Denisse.

  • Black Snapchat Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

© 2023 LightsPlusHeavenBlog

bottom of page