top of page

The Latest 

Mommy and kids photoshoot |A. Fatouros Photography


There’s something mysteriously nostalgic about looking back at pictures of yourself as a child and trying to reminisce what life was like for you then. It was only after stepping into motherhood myself that I realised the lack of photos I have of myself as a child and in particular those with my mom in them too – of course, it was either chunky cameras or nothing back then, no smartphones or pocket-sized cameras to take a multitude of snaps. To this day I can only think of one photo with both my mom and myself in it… I must have been around 11. My younger brother Angel was also in the shot, taken in our old place. I’m not blaming my wonderful mom – she had enough on her plate as a single mother (before she remarried)– but I can’t help but feel somewhat wistful that I can only really piece together moments from my childhood through my own memory. Thankfully, around the age of 7 or 8, I became fascinated in taking photos with simple throwaway cameras (remember those?) and became a photo addict in my high school years… I guess the rest is history.

This may also be the reason why I don’t – and won’t – stop taking pictures of myself and the boys and just the boys in general. It’s safe to say they won’t be short of evidence of their childhood… maybe they’ll have a bit too much! The point behind all this is how utterly essential I think it is for you as ‘mom’ or ‘dad’ to get in the frame too! Whether it’s first thing in the morning where you’re all a bit rough round the edges or when you’re dolled up to go for a family outing, you’ll appreciate all the candid shots at a later stage… I promise you, you’ll thank me later for giving you the push! So… to embrace the idea of ‘being in the frame as well’, the lovely, Anika from A.fatouros Photography is hosting her second Mommy and Me event/photo shoot to any Mother and child, hold on April 28th.

Here are the details (you can see them HERE).

Thank you to Anika for inviting me down to trial her Mommy & Me photo shoot and to enjoy having a little pampering, we had a blast and felt very honoured to be a part of it all. If you’re in and around NYC on any of the dates mentioned above then it’s well worth booking in and enjoying a little time-out with your child / children in honour of Mother’s Day! Such a lovely way to remember a special occasion in celebrating us Moms and – bonus – it doesn’t cost a kidney :). I’m going to be sharing more about our family photos in another blog post because as always I have too many photos to share. So I’ll be seeing you very soon with part two. Have a lovely week!

  • Black Snapchat Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

© 2023 LightsPlusHeavenBlog

bottom of page