top of page

The Latest 

5 things I’ve learned from blogging


I’ve seen a few of these posts kicking around lately, and I just had to contribute to the love-in. I’ve been blogging for over two years now on this blog, so I guess it was fate that I ended up here, blogging as my career!

With any job, there are highs and lows. Mostly, the blogging community is full of positivity and inspiration, especially if you follow the right people! I wanted to share a few things I’ve learned since I started this blog.. 01. Let’s be real. I always think that blogging is what it is because people are nosy (no shame admitting that!) and want to see the real lives of others. The majority of us don’t have the lifestyle of the Jenners, but we’re regular humans – it’s an achievable reality, where you can take inspiration from someone you admire or trust, and actually afford their favorite MAC lipstick or dress. My point here is that I’ve learnt that I can be myself – it’s okay to shop at New Look, admit that I’ve eaten nothing but takeouts lately and blog my messy house. I am not trying to be anything but a normal girl, and I think blogging encourages that. No matter what your personality, your style or your look, there’s a few people out there who are going to embrace your flaws! Yay for keeping it real! *fist pump* 02. It’s nice to be nice. I think this applies to life in general tbh, but through blogging I’ve really come to understand just how important it is to be a good, honest person. That means no nasty posts pointing fingers, no sub-tweets or stirring up drama on Twitter – it’s all about being nice to everyone. Sure, working hard is key to getting ahead, but I think it’s so important to be nice to people, and to be someone people aren’t scared of, or always worrying they’re being referenced in those mean tweets! Being friendly costs nothing. 03. It’s a place to grow. I really thank the blogging world for ensuring that I’m always growing as a person – and not just out the way! Lols. I think the community and the way of blogging life really pushes us to be our best. There’s something about being around so many awesome, aspirational girls that makes me want to keep pushing myself! Hopefully this doesn’t just stop at bloggers either, hopefully you readers feel this too – it makes me want to be a better person, someone compassionate and dedicated and relatable. 04. It’s not about winning. When it’s a game of numbers, it can be hard not to be overly competitive. Seeing your follower count is sometimes a bit like knowing your worth, and what if you’re worth less than someone else? In the last year or so, I’ve really come to realise that there doesn’t have to be a number one blogger. Readers can love a few blogs at a time, and these will most likely change often – you don’t have to just read one blog, and love that blogger unconditionally. In fact, I feel like that encourages us to work harder and be better. Comparing yourself to others is pointless, and so is worrying about numbers – there’s no number one here! 05. The choice is yours. I think it’s totally okay to keep things private, or choose to broadcast everything to the world – the choice is entirely up to you! Similarly, you can follow who you like, post what you wish and be whoever you want. As long as you’re not hurting anyone, you can totally make the decisions here. It’s also okay to take time away from the internet, or forget things like Vlogmas or posting Black Friday sales roundups – or to do all of these things! It’s okay not to post your opinion on world events, but if you want to, that’s okay too. Don’t feel pressured to do what everyone else is doing, but don’t feel like you can’t join in either. We’re all in this together!

Photos by Myriam.

What are some things you’ve learned from blogging, be it as a blogger or a reader? Let me know in the comments.

Xo, Denisse

  • Black Snapchat Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

© 2023 LightsPlusHeavenBlog

bottom of page